top of page
SAMPE Conference & Exhibition
Student Leadership Experience Award


The SAMPE International University Student Leadership Experience Award program invites student leaders to attend the annual SAMPE Spring Conference & Exhibition for a week of networking with peers and professionals, learn about career opportunities in the materials and process engineering community, and meet future employers.

  • Complimentary Premium Registration for the SAMPE 2025 Conference & Exhibition ($1,099 value!)

  • Round-trip economy airfare to Indianapolis, IN from anywhere in the U.S., Canada and Mexico

  • Five (5) nights hotel accommodation assigned by SAMPE*

  • Five (5) days of networking, exhibits, technical education, hospitality and special events

Eligibility Requirements – You must:

Benefits of Participation

  • Be a current member of an active SAMPE North America Student Chapter

  • Be 18 years of age or older

  • Be currently enrolled in an upper division or graduate degree program at a college or university

  • Be a continuing student in advanced materials curriculum in the 2025-2026 academic year

  • Not have been a recipient of this award nor participated in this program previously

  • If selected, be available to attend the full five (5) day conference (May 19–22, 2025), exhibition, and scheduled activities

Application Requirements

  • Complete Sections A-E of the application; all fields are required; incomplete applications will not be accepted

  • Section A: Your information

  • Section B: Answer questions

  • Section C: Your Student Chapter Faculty Advisor’s information

  • Section D: Attach a recommendation letter from your Student Chapter Faculty Advisor

  • Section E: Write an essay explaining your demonstrated leadership

Questions? Need help with your application? Contact Juliet Marshall at 626.540.4114 or

*SAMPE-contracted hotel; Sharing of rooms is required. Please see Program Guidelines for details.

Winners 2024

  • Christopher Clark, Aerospace Engineering, University of Maryland-College Park 

  • Martin Giersberg Sola, M.Sc., IKV-Institute for Plastics Processing, RWTH Aachen University 

  • Matthew Godbold, Mechanical Engineering, University of South Carolina 

  • Ariel Hall, Polymer Materials Engineering, Western Washington University 

  • Grace Johnson, Aerospace Engineering, University of Maryland-College Park 

  • Max Kauphusman, Composite Materials Engineering, Winona State University 

  • Lane McDermott, Aerospace Engineering, University of Maryland-College Park 

bottom of page